

# Fifth Arthabisleshon Workshop on

*Tattya ebong Tathya Jiggasa'* (*Questioning Theory and Empirics*) Organized by

Society for Economic Research in Bengali (SERB)

in Collaboration with Department of Economics and Internal Quality Assurance Cell (IQAC),

Deshbandhu College for Girls, Kolkata

Venue: Deshbandhu College for Girls, Kolkata

## 45C Rashbehari Avenue, Kolkata-700026 West Bengal, India <u>DECEMBER 3, 2016</u> PROGRAMME SCHEDULE

9.30 am- 10 am: Registration

### 10.00 am -10.45 am: Inaugural Session

- 10.00am-10.05 am: Opening address by *Prof. Debbani Roy Chaudhury*, IQAC Coordinator, Deshbandhu College for Girls
- 10.05am -10.10 am: Felicitation of the dignitaries
- 10.10 am-10.15 am: Lighting of lamp and inauguration of the workshop by the dignitaries
- 10.15 am -10.20 am: Welcome Address by *Dr. Anita Chattopadhyay Gupta*, Principal, Deshbandhu College for Girls
- 10.20 am -10.30 am : Inaugural address by *Professor Sugata Marjit*, RBI Professor of Industrial Economics, Centre for Studies in Social Sciences Calcutta (CSSSC); Former Vice Chancellor, Calcutta University; Former Chairman, West Bengal State Council of Higher Education and Chief Editor, Arthabisleshon.
- 10.30 am-10.40 am : Address by *Prof. Benoy Bhushon Chakraborty*, President, Governing Body, Deshbandhu College for Girls.
- 10.40 am -10.45 am : A few words about SERB by **President/Vice-President/Secretary**, **SERB**

Page 1 of 3

#### 10.45am-11.00 am: Tea Break

#### <u>11.00 am – 12.00 noon: First Professor Bhabatosh Dutta Memorial Lecture</u>

 Chairperson: Professor Ajitava Roy Chowdhury, Professor of Economics, Jadavpur University
Speaker: Professor Dipankor Coondoo, Retired Professor of Economics, Economic Research Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
Topic: "Arthanitir Tathyajiggasa" (Aspects of Empirical Economics)

#### 1200 noon -1.40 pm: Technical Session

Chairperson: Professor Soumyen Sikdar, Professor of Economics, Indian Institute of Management Calcutta (IIMC)

<u>Paper 1:</u> 12.00noon – 12.25 pm (it includes presentation time and time for discussion)

- Speaker: Rakesh Basanta(IIM Ahmedabad), *Maitri Ghosh (Bethune College)* and Saikat Sinha Roy (Jadavpur University) (Dr. Maitri Ghosh of Bethune College, Kolkata, will present the paper)
- **Topic:** "Bideshi Malikana o Prajukti Chayan: Bharatiya Shilper Ekti Bishleshon" (Foreign Ownership and Technology Choice: An Analysis of Indian Manufacturing Industries)

#### Paper 2: 12.25pm – 12.50 pm (it includes presentation time and time for discussion)

- Speaker: *Debasree Bose(Calcutta University)* and Arijita Dutta (Calcutta University) (Ms. Debasree Basu, Research Scholar, Calcutta University, will present the paper)
- **Topic:** "Bharatiya Arthanitite Souchabyabosthar Unnayaner Mulyaaon O Bisleshon Tulanamulok Adhyaaon" (Evaluation and Analysis of Sanitation Development in Indian Economy- A Comparative Study)

#### **<u>Paper 3:</u>** 12.50 pm – 1.15 pm (it includes presentation time and time for discussion)

- Speaker: *Debabrata Ray (Calcutta University)* and Anindita Sen (Calcutta University) (Sri Debabrata Ray, Research Scholar, Calcutta University, will present the paper)
- **Topic:** "Badabon O Tar Bhumika- Arthanaitik Dristikon Theke Ekti Tattik Bisleshon" (Mangrove Forest and its Role-A Theoretical Analysis from Economic Perspectives)

#### Paper 4 : 1.15 pm – 1.40 pm (it includes presentation time and time for discussion)

#### Speaker: Sujata Ghosh, Research Scholar, Visva Bharati University

**Topic:** "Arthanaitik Udarikaran, Asanghatito Khetro ebong Nagarkendrik Bekaratta: Ekti Tattik Alochona" (Economic Liberalization, Informal Sector and Urban Unemployment: A Theoretical Analysis)

#### 1.40 pm-2.40 pm -Lunch

#### 2.40 pm to 4.10 pm: Panel Discussion

Topic: Tattya Jiggasa (Questioning Theory)

#### **Speakers:**

- 1. Professor Saibal Kar, Professor of Economics, Calcutta University
- 2. Dr. Rajesh Bhattacharya, Indian Institute of Management Calcutta(IIMC)
- **3.** *Professor Abhirup Sarkar*, Professor, Economic Research Unit, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, and Chairman, West Bengal Government 6<sup>th</sup> Pay Commission

#### **Moderator**

*Professor Asis Kumar Banerjee,* Retired Professor of Economics, Calcutta University, and Former Vice Chancellor, Calcutta University.

## 4.10 pm-4.15 pm: Closing Remarks on behalf of SERB by

Dr. Jayanta Kumar Dwibedi, B.K.C. College, Kolkata, and Treasurer SERB

# **4.15 pm-4.20 pm: Vote of Thanks by Dr. Anita Chattopadhyay Gupta,** Principal, Deshbandhu College for Girls, Kolkata

4.20 pm- 4.30 pm: Tea